• Betsy Jolas
  • A Little Summer Suite (2015)

  • Alphonse Leduc (World)

Commissioned by Berliner Philharmoniker

  • 3(afl, pic).3(ca).3(bcl).3(cbn)/
  • 11 min 35 s

Programme Note

I've been toying lately, in much of my work, with the notion of "wandering music"; in other words, music which seems aimless and could land anywhere at any time. This concept, obviously inherited from Moussorgsky's justly famous Pictures at an exhibition, is at the root of the seven movement structure of my little Summer suite : a walking stroll in four sections, designated « away, about, under and home », leading to three clearly identified , and fairly stable moments, labeled: « knocks and clocks, Shakes and quakes, chants and cheers »

Commissioned by Stiftung Berlin Philharmoniker, A little summer suite is dedicated to Sir Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic orchestra who will premiere it on June 16 2016.

Betsy Jolas (2016)


Preview the score