• 3+3pic.afl.3+ca.3+2pic.bcl.cbcl.3+cbn/6.3+ptpt.4.2+cbtba/5perc/3om/str( *Percussion: I – 1 tubular bells player, claves, wind machine, side drum. II – triangle, 2 claves players, 6 temple blocks, very small cymbal, small cymbal, suspended cymbal. III –2 triangle players, 3 claves players, wood block, whip, maracas, réco-réco, glass chimes, shell chimes, wood chimes, tambourine, 3
  • Choir of 150 divided into 10 groups of 15.
  • Soloists of 1 soprano, 3 tenors, 2 baritones and 1 bass.
  • 4 hr
    • 2nd June 2024, Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg, Germany
    • 6th June 2024, Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg, Germany
    View all

Programme Note

Saint Francois d’Assise is Messiaen’s only music theatre work and can be regarded as his opus magnum, an essence of his musical language.
The libretto is based on the "Fioretti", a 14th century report of the life of St. Francis and the "Reflexions" on the Stigmata, books written by anonymous Franciscans. The eight scenes of the opera mark core stations in the life and spiritual development of St. Francis.
Scene 1: The Cross
Scene 2: Lauds
Scene 3: The Kissing of the Leper
Scene 4: The Journeying Angel
Scene 5: The Angel-Musician
Scene 6: The Sermon to the Birds
Scene 7: The Stigmata
Scene 8: Death and the New Life