• Jacques Ibert and Arthur Honegger
  • L'Aiglon (1936)

  • Heugel (World)
  • 2(pic).2.2.2/ and 7 onstage musicians: fl.ob.ca.bell.vn.va.vc.
  • SATB
  • 2 Sopranos, 2 Mezzo Sopranos, Alto, 3 Tenors, Baritone, 2 Basses
  • 1 hr 45 min

Programme Note

L'Aiglon (the young eagle) is an opera in five acts composed by Arthur Honegger and Jacques Ibert. Honegger composed Acts II, III, and IV, with Ibert composing Acts I and V.

L’Aiglon set to Alexandrine verse by Edmond Rostand was premiered at the Sarah Bernhardt Theater in Paris in 1900. It paints a picture of Napoleon’s son, who was at birth proclaimed King of Rome. While he sought to free himself from the shadow of his father, he ended up following in his footsteps.
In 1937, following several film adaptations, this emblematic text took on new life through composers Jacques Ibert and Arthur Honegger in a five-act collaboration.

A short introduction by Kent Nagano: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hM0nM_NAQ0