• Benet Casablancas
  • Sogni ed Epifanie. Un bagliore tra notti (Rafael Argullol) (2014)

  • Unión Musical Ediciones (World)
  • 2(afl)22(bcl)2/4331/2perc/hp/str
  • 12 min

Programme Note

The present work was commissioned by the Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya (OBC) and it is linked to Casablancas’s appointment as composer in residence at L´Auditori of Barcelona during the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons. The score is inspired in the rich spiritual universe of the philosopher and writer Rafael Argullol, librettist of Casablancas’s opera L’Enigma di Lea, commissioned by Gran Teatre del Liceu of Barcelona, which shall be world premiered in 2017. Epiphany (Joyce, Klee, Wells, Nabokov, etc.) is a term, which recalls the sudden irruption of mystery that sets a link to those visions and revelations – evasive, unexpected –, which transcend our daily life and seem to take us to other levels of reality, to new sensorial and cognitive experiences: permanent longing and quest, which give sense to the artistic exploration. Dreams refer to the night and its exorcisms, something, which links this score to the author’s nocturnes where the contemplative calm is being menaced by sparkles of uneasiness. The present work is written for grand orchestra and has a duration of around twelve minutes. It is dedicated “with affection and admiration” to Maestro Kazushi Ono, who will world premiere the work.




More Info