Commissioned by Inbal Segev, Anchorage Symphony Orchestra, Youngstown Symphony Society and Hudson Valley Philharmonic, Randall Craig Fleischer, Music Director

  • 2(2pic).2.1+bcl.2/2.1.1+btbn.0/timp/str; concertante pf, dmkit, db
  • cello
  • 25 min

Programme Note

In 3 movements, played without pause.

In a sentence, this is a concerto for a cello that forgot it was a cello. I’m not sure that there is a storyline in this piece, per se, but I feel like the cello is excited, at first to be free of its historical baggage. However, the exuberance that comes with this freedom is transformed into anxiety sometime during the first movement. The cello tries to recapture its old self, or whatever it can remember of it, in a passionate cadenza like second movement. However, this is not possible, but the cello does find its new place, expression, and soul, in the final movement of the piece.

— Avner Dorman


Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Colombia
Inbal Segev, cello
Andreas Schüller, conductor