• Jay Greenberg
  • Quintet for Brass, Op. 25 (2012)

  • G. Schirmer/Lost Penny Publications (World)
  • hn, 2tpt, tbn, btbn
  • 12 min

Programme Note

Composer note:
The Quintet for Brass was completed on 29 February 2012 for the American Brass Quintet with support from the Jerome Fund commission. It is approximately 14 minutes in duration. The American Brass Quintet gave the premiere performance at the Aspen Music Festival on 18 July 2012.

Much performer/composer interaction led the work to its ultimate form. As so often happens when I attempt to "revise" a piece, the final version ended up being an entirely new piece unrelated to its earlier drafts. The members of the American Brass Quintet provided invaluable feedback and technical assistance, for which I am quite grateful.

Time is inconstant during the Quintet. One, two, or — at times — all five players step away from the underlying pulse: in time and out of time through several episodes.

— Jay Greenberg

More Info