• 2(pic).1.2(bcl).1/2210/4perc/2hp.pf(cel)/str(
  • 17 min

Programme Note

Composer note
Terpsichore's Dream, composed in 2007, and scored for a chamber orchestra consisting of 2 flute (2nd doubles piccolo), 1 oboe, 2 clarinet in B-flat (2nd doubles bass clarinet in B-flat), 1 bassoon, 2 horn, 2 trumpet, 1 trombone, 4 percussion, piano (doubling celesta), 2 harps and strings, is dedicated with admiration and gratitude to Cliff Colnot.

The work, of 17-minutes duration, was premiered on October 18, 2007 by the Utah Symphony, Cliff Colnot conducting. I wish to thank the Utah Symphony, in particular, Clovis Lark and Elizabeth Cusato for their vision, effort and kindness in making this project possible.

In Greek mythology, Terpsichore ("delight of dancing") was one of the nine Muses, ruling over dance and the dramatic chorus. She lends her name to the word "terpsichorean" which means "of or relating to dance". She is usually depicted sitting down, holding a lyre, accompanying with her music to the dancers' choirs. She is sometimes said to be the mother of the Sirens by Achelous. Her name comes from the Greek words ("delight") and ("dance").

— Augusta Read Thomas


More Info