• Richard Rodney Bennett
  • A History of the Thé Dansant (1994)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • mezzo-soprano; 1(pic)1110+hn.0.0.0perchpstr
  • Mezzo Soprano;pf
  • 9 min

Programme Note

The original version of this work for mezzo-soprano with piano accompaniment was commissioned for the twenty-first anniversary of the Burnham Market Concerts, with financial assistance from the Eastern Arts Board and the Lady Margaret Douglas-Home Trust. The first performance took place at Burnham Thorp, August 13th 1994, by Barbara Rearick and Martin Jones. The small orchestral version was first performed at Mansion House, London, on 13th September 2011 by the City of London Sinfonia conducted by Michael Collins, the solo part sung by Sarah Connolly.


I. Foxtrot
II. Slow Foxtrot
III. Tango

View Score

Preview the score