• Jay Greenberg
  • Blues (2011)

  • G. Schirmer/Lost Penny Publications (World)
  • 2vn, va, vc
  • 3 min

Programme Note

May 29, 2011
Priamos String Quartet (Staatsorchester Darmstadt)
Soli fan tutti
Darmstadt, Germany

Composer Note:
The Blues for string quartet (written 12 September 2010), also existing in a version
for organ, is a simple, straightforward piece in ternary form: two identical outer parts based on irregular, syncopated rhythms enclose a trio section closer to the American folk idioms of ragtime. The piece is in D major, and expresses a mood or colour often linked with that key in my work.

— Jay Greenberg