• 3(pic).3(ca).3(bcl).3/

Programme Note

April 26 2012
New York Philharmonic
Alan Gilbert, conductor
New York, NY

The Concerto was composed in 2011 at the request of Alan Gilbert. It is meant to feature the great virtuoso orchestra. While the composition is rigorously structured from basic unifying elements, it is intended as a show piece. The musical core of the piece is a series of chords constructed from expanding intervals. These same expanding intervals form the basis of the melodic structure of the piece.

The first movement opens with a set of chords, which is one of the unifying aspects of the movement. It returns several times, transformed and forms the basis for the coda. The movement prominently features the horn, tuba, timpani, and oboes.

The second movement is a scherzo with virtuosic use of the wind section, which has an abbreviated repeat after a trio. The trio features the flute as well as the trumpet.

The third movement is an Adagio focusing on the string section and the Finale is a flashy turn for the entire orchestra with a notable turn for the clarinet.