• Helen Grime
  • Into the faded air (2007)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Into the faded air was commissioned by Britten Sinfonia and first performed at Philharmonic Hall, Cracow, Poland on Sunday 13th January 2008, with Jacqueline Shave (violin), Miranda Dale (violin), Clare Finnimore (viola), Catherine Musker (viola), Caroline Dearnley (cello) and Benjamin Chappell (cello).

Commissioned by the Britten Sinfonia.

  • 2vn.2va.2vc
  • 10 min

Programme Note

My string sextet Into the faded air is cast in four movements although the last three movements are played without a break. In the first movement, the sextet is divided into two groups. The first group, consisting of violin, viola and cello plays a sustained melody while the second group (also violin, viola and cello) contributes more jagged and intricate material. The second movement is an extended duet for two violas with the other instruments accompanying. As the movement progresses, the accompanying instruments become more prominent. The third movement is the only fast movement in the piece, with rapid semi-quavers and much use of pizzicato throughout. This leads into a serene chorale where the three upper instruments (two violins and viola one) are set against the second viola and two cellos.


Into the Faded Air: I. Con moto
Into the Faded Air: II. Lento -
Into the Faded Air: III. Agitato -
Into the Faded Air: IV. Grave


Sample Pages



More Info