• Helen Grime
  • A Cold Spring (2009)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Aldeburgh Music with funds from BCMG and Sue Knussen Trust for the BCMG conducted by Oliver Knussen.

  • 0.0+ca.2.1/1000/hp/str(
  • 10 min

Programme Note

A Cold Spring falls into three movements although these are played almost without a break. The first movement is fast-moving and features an exuberant duet for two clarinets. The second is a mini concerto for solo horn accompanied by the ensemble. More nocturnal in character, a repetitive rocking rhythm lends it a feel of a lullaby. The third movement opens with an energetic outburst for the whole group. Solos and duets are juxtaposed with the combined ensemble to create an impression of stark contrast.


A Cold Spring: I. quarter note = 76
A Cold Spring: II. Calmo -
A Cold Spring: III. Tumultuous


Preview the score



More Info