• Simon Holt
  • Telarañas (2009)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • vn,vc
  • 11 min

Programme Note

'Telarañas' (the Spanish for cobwebs) is a duo for violin and cello written for and dedicated to Jakob Kullberg and Jack Liebeck. Much of the music is taken from other parts of a cycle of string pieces called 'Terrain', to which this is the penultimate part. The cycle begins with 'String sextet: the torturer's horse', followed by a quintet of piano, violin, viola, cello and bass; 'everything turns away'. There will then follow a string quartet (as yet unwritten) and the string trio, 'Amapolas' (Poppies) and then this duo. The final piece is a solo for viola, 'mantis'. The material used will cross all six pieces like a giant web. 'Telarañas' lasts approximately 11'.