• Joby Talbot
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (2010)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Orchestrations by Christopher Austin and Joby Talbot.

World premiere choreography by Christopher Wheeldon (2011) for The Royal Ballet, Covent Garden, London.

  • 3(3pic,1afl)2(oboe d'amore, ca)3(Eflcl:bcl)2(cbn)/43(shofar)2+btn1/timps.5perc/2hp.2pno(celeste+toy piano)/(str(
  • 3(3pic,afl).2(obda,ca).3(eflcl,bcl).2(cbn)/3(shofar).2(pictpt).1+btbn.1/timp(perc).4perc/hp.pf.cel.kbd/str
  • 4 female voices (or keyboard)
  • 1 hr 55 min

Programme Note

A new full-length ballet created by Christopher Wheeldon for The Royal Ballet. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland brings a famous story and its equally famous characters to the ballet stage. The Victorian childhood of Lewis Carroll’s Alice and her encounters with extraordinary people, strange creatures and unusual events gives Wheeldon an entire new world to create. Written by Joby Talbot in 2010 the score is the the first full-length ballet score for The Royal Ballet for 20 years. With a scenario by Nicholas Wright (his adaptations have included His Dark Materials at the NT), and designs by the internationally acclaimed Bob Crowley, this is a compelling creative team indeed. Alice's Adventures in Wonderland was commissioned by the Royal Ballet, Covent Garden, London and the National Ballet of Canada.



View Score

Acts II & III