• Tan Dun
  • Internet Symphony: Eroica (for orchestra) (2009)

  • G Schirmer Inc (World)

Commissioned by Google/You Tube

  • 2+pic..2+ca.2+bcl.2+cbn/4.2.btbn.1/timp.5perc/hp/str
  • 4 min 5 s

Programme Note

Related works:
   Internet Symphony: Eroica (for symphonic band)

April 15 2009
YouTube Symphony Orchestra
Tan Dun, conductor
Carnegie Hall, New York, NY

I. Allegretto - 0:30
II. Dolce Molto - 0:55
III. Allegro - 1:25
IV. Allegro Vivace - 1:15

In 2008, Google and YouTube commissioned Tan Dun to write Internet Symphony ‘Eroica’ as a part of the YouTube Symphony Orchestra project. Musicians from around the world were invited to audition by submitting videos of their interpretations of Internet Symphony to be judged by members of leading international orchestras. There were more than 3,000 auditions from more than 70 countries. The project culminated in a performance at Carnegie Hall on April 15, 2009. The performance was webcast and is available on YouTube. More than 22 million people from 200 countries on six continents have experienced Tan Dun’s feeling of a global music community, encapsulated in Internet Symphony.

"The Internet is an invisible Silk Road, joining different cultures from around the world - East or West, North or South. And this project has created a classical music phenomenon, bringing together musical heroes from all corners of the globe."

—Tan Dun




More Info