Commissioned by Scottish Opera as part of Five:15 Operas Made in Scotland, February 2009. Sponsored by Accenture. With major support from the Binks Trust, The Scottish Opera Endowment Trust and Oran Mor.

  • Baritone, Contralto, Soprano
  • 16 min
  • Libretto (English) by Louise Welsh
  • English

Programme Note


Douglas Grieve – Baritone
Frances Grieve – Contralto
Lyn – Soprano


Seventeen year-old Lyn is saving for university by cleaning the house of two elderly neighbours, Douglas and Frances Grieve. Lyn is full of excitement at her future, and a little disgusted at the decrepitude of the Grieves' house. She is impatient to get away. When her iPod stops working, she decides to play an old record, but the music rekindles the elderly couple's past, unleashing horrific consequences.


Vocal score