• Kaija Saariaho
  • Serenatas (2008)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and La Jolla Music Society for SummerFest.

  • piano, cello, percussion
  • 14 min

Programme Note

This work is a collection of five small pieces which are played in the order chosen by the performers. The names of the sections describe their general musical character: Agitato, Delicato, Dolce, Languido, Misterioso.

The musical material here is related to two of my recent works: Mirage and Notes on Light. I became attached to some details and musical ideas, developed them here further or put them in a new context. The starting-point for these pieces is emotional. The title reflects my attitude to this material: the music is sometimes sweet, sometimes tormented. I would like the attitude of the musicians playing it to be devoted as it would be when playing a serenade to a lover...