• Geoffrey Burgon
  • Cello Concerto (2009)
    (Il Fuggitivo)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • 1.1(ca).1+bcl.1+cbn/2210/perc/hp.mba.vib/str
  • cello
  • 21 min

Programme Note

As I was writing this piece I gradually became aware that the music was quite
unconsciously being influenced by music from the ‘film noir’ movies that I’d seen in
my youth. Having realised this I began to view the soloist as a protagonist in such a
film, being hunted and pursued through dark streets on a rainy winter night. In the
slow movement, the scene changes to a threatening forest, and in the final movement
returns to an urban setting, until the pursued is finally ‘released’ and enters a kind of
Hollywood heaven.

Geoffrey Burgon


Cello Concerto: I. Con moto - Piu mosso - Piu mosso - Meno mosso -
Cello Concerto: II. Lento e calmo - Piu mosso - A tempo I - Meno mosso
Cello Concerto: III. Vivo - Meno mosso - Lento - Meno mosso - Piu mosso - Meno mosso



More Info