• Leon Kirchner
  • Piano Sonata No. 3 (The Forbidden) (2006)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned by the Joel Fan Foundation

  • pf
  • 9 min

Programme Note

Every better composer bears within him a canon of what is forbidden, of what forbids itself, which by now embraces the very means of tonality, and thus all traditional music…

— Leon Kirchner, in his tribute to Arthur Berger for the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2004.


Piano Sonata No. 1: I. Lento - Doppio movimento - Quasi adagio
Piano Sonata No. 1: II. Adagio
Piano Sonata No. 1: III. Allegro risoluto