Commissioned by Southbank Centre

  • low male voice
  • 25 min
  • Antonio Machado
  • Spanish

Programme Note

Sueños is a setting of six Antonio Machado poems predominantly about dreams (‘sueños’). Written for Bass baritone with Bass flute, Oboe d'Amore, Clarinet in A, Bassoon, Flugelhorn, Tuba in F, Percussion, Guitar, Accordion, Violin, Viola, Cello and Bass, the piece lasts approximately 23 minutes and has eight movements:

1] cigüeña (‘stork’) - instrumental
2] un fanal de lluvia y sol (‘a lantern of rain and sun’)
3] la lira inmensa (‘the vast lyre’)
4] aire sombrio (‘shadowy air’) - instrumental
5] señas lejanas (‘distant signals’)
6] garabato (‘pot hook’) - instrumental
7] este dia triste (‘this sad day’)
8] el demonio (‘the Devil’)

It was written in the summer of '06 and has two dedications. The second movement is dedicated to the memory of a friend, Marichu Tros de Ilarduya, the fourth to the memory of György Ligeti, who I never met, but I've often felt inspired by his brave and powerfully individual music.

© Simon Holt