• Simon Holt
  • 4 Quarters (2005)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Nash Ensemble

  • vn.va.vc
  • 17 min

Programme Note

I wrote 4 Quarters for string trio in August 2005. The four movements are each named after one of something that normally comes in fours: a humour (Choler), a compass point (North), a season (Spring) and an element (Ether). The first three pieces feature each of the three instruments in a prominent role, while the final piece is meditative. The whole piece lasts about 16 minutes.

(c) Simon Holt