• 1(pic)1(ca)2(bcl)1/2110/timp.perc/hp.pf/str
  • 2 Sopranos, Mezzo Soprano, 2 Tenor, Baritone
  • 53 min
  • Libretto by the composer after stories of Anton Chekhov.
  • English

Programme Note

Tania, an aristocratic landowner, in an effort to prevent her crumbling estate from being put up for auction, enlists the aid of Misha, a young Moscow lawyer. Tania’s true scheme, however, is to kindle a romance between Misha and her younger sister Nadja and to preserve the estate by placing the mortgaged property in Misha’s name. At first, Tania’s plan appears to be working, with Misha falling helplessly under the spell of the country and hopelessly in love with Nadia. But the success of this ‘visit to the country’ is short-lived when Misha learns the truth of Tania’s manipulation from Sergei, Tania’s wastrel husband.