• Joan Tower
  • Concerto for Flute (1989)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 1(pic).1.1(bcl).1/0.1.btbn.0/2perc/str
  • Flute
  • 15 min
    • 10th February 2024, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH, United States of America
    • 24th February 2024, Lawrence University Memorial Chapel, Appleton, WI, United States of America
    View all

Programme Note

Composer note:

Concerto for Flute (1989) was commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra and dedicated to Carol Wincenc who gave its Carnegie Hall premiere in 1989 with Hugh Wolff conducting.

The 15-minute work starts with the low register of the flute alone before the orchestra comes. As the flute gets more active, the chamber-size orchestra provides competitive tension which is matched phrase by phrase as the piece heads relentlessly towards to a finale where the "music blows wide open" (Wincenc) in a virtuosic display of flute scales and arpeggios.

—Joan Tower





More Info