• Joan Tower
  • For the Uncommon Woman (1992)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2(pic).2.2.2/
  • 5 min
    • 27th June 2024, NeidorffKarpati Hall, New York, NY, United States of America
    View all

Programme Note

Composer Note:

All four fanfares are dedicated to women who are adventurous and take risks. The first Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman was inspired by Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man and is scored for the same instrumentation of 3 trumpets, 4 horns, 3 trombones, tuba and percussion. This fanfare was premiered by the Houston Symphony as part of their Fanfare Project in 1987 with Hans Vonk conducting.

The second fanfare, which is the same instrumentation as the first with one added percussion, was commissioned by Absolut Vodka and premiered by the Orchestra of Saint Luke’s at Lincoln Center in 1989.

The third was commissioned by Carnegie Hall in commemoration of their 100th anniversary on May 5, 1991. Scored for double brass quintet, the ensemble was the Empire Brass and members of the New York Philharmonic brass section with Zubin Mehta conducting.

The fourth fanfare is scored for full orchestra and was commissioned by The Kansas City Symphony with funding from AT&T.

—Joan Tower

Note: This piece, originally called “Fourth Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman,” was re-named “For the Uncommon Woman.”