• Joan Tower
  • Duets (1994)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 19 min

Programme Note

Composer Note:

Duets was commissioned by and is dedicated to the wonderful Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra.

In three of my concertos for flute, clarinet and violin, I explored the idea of pairing the soloist with the corresponding first chair player in featured cadenzas (an idea I got from Schuman's Cello Concerto). In Duets, I developed that idea within the orchestra, concentrating on pairs of cellos, flutes, horns, trumpets, and to a lesser degree violins, oboes, clarinets and percussion, creating an overall concerto grosso-like effect.

Duets is divided into four sections (slow-fast-slow-fast) within one continuous movement and lasts about 19 minutes.

—Joan Tower