Audio clip: Albany Records TROY810

  • vn
  • 5 min

Programme Note

Composer Note:
Incantation for solo violin, composed in 1995, is one of my earliest works which has not been withdrawn from my catalogue. It also represents a snap shot into my long love affair with the strings, and the violin in particular, an instrument for which I have composed many works (some withdrawn, others published by G. Schirmer) including: Spirit Musings for solo violin and chamber orchestra, and for violin and cello.

Incantation was composed for Cathryn Tait, who, at the time, was dying of cancer. Cathryn presented the premiere performance, beautifully, a few weeks before her death, in a very touching recital.

The short, 5-minute, work celebrates Cathryn's generosity of spirit. The music sings out, with beauty and grace, always with a richness and elegance. The work falls loosely into an ABA from, ending as it were, on a question, with a major seventh hanging in the air, unresolved.

— Augusta Read Thomas

Related works:
   Incantation (for violin)
   Incantation (for viola)
   Incantation (for cello)



More Info