• Gunther Schuller
  • Paradigm Exchanges (1991)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano
  • 22 min

Programme Note

Composer note:

Paradigm Exchanges is a work in fourteen brief movements, structured in such a way as to feature each of the five instrumentalists of the ensemble in an a capella solo as well as in a series of exchanges of duets, trios, quartets, and quintets. All fourteen movements are played without interruption, either eliding directly into one another or continuing with only the tiniest "breathing" pause. Each movement represents a musical form or character study, hence paradigm, highly contrasting in tempo, texture and mood.

The work was composed in the late months of 1990 and early 1991. It is dedicated to the Da Capo Chamber Players to celebrate their many years of brilliant and devoted service to contemporary music and to American composers. The world premiere took place on March 7, 1991.

— Gunther Schuller