• 2vn, va, vc
  • 17 min

Programme Note

Meta 4 was created with choreographer Bella Lewitzky and is intended for performance as either a ballet or as a concert piece. The title refers to the Greek prefix for "change" or "beyond" as in "metamorphosis" and "metaphysics." The music evolves from a florid Bach-like quasi-religious exaltation (I. Soliloquy and Canon) to a playful sonatina (II. Scherzo) to a lyrical intermezzo with a rhythmic, canonic trio (III. Arioso) and, finally, to a brilliant moto perpetuo finale (IV. Toccata).


Meta 4: Soliloquy and Canon
Meta 4: Scherzo
Meta 4: Arioso
Meta 4: Toccata
Amernet Quartet: Meta 4 mvt I. Soliloquy and Canon, on Albany Records TROY 1724