• Walter Piston
  • Symphony No. 2 (1943)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 3333/4431/perc/str
  • 26 min

Programme Note

Composer Note:

The first movement (moderato) is based on two themes, one given out at the opening of the movement by violas and cellos, legato and flowing, the other first played by the oboe, accompanied by clarinets and bassoons, staccato and rhythmic. The first of these themes receives the principal development, and the movement ends with a canonic statement of the melody by the brass choir, pianissimo.

The second movement (adagio) is a quiet, lyrical development of the motive announced at the beginning by the bassoon, and the melody played by the clarinet, accompanied by muted strings. The movement is continuous rather than sectional in form.

The Finale, (allegro) is composed of three themes: the first vigorous and rhythmic, played by cellos and horns; the second march-like, by clarinets and bassoons; and the third, of more songful character, first heard in english horn and clarinet.

-- Walter Piston


Symphony No.2: 1. Moderato
Symphony No.2: 2. Adagio
Symphony No.2: 3. Allegro


More Info