• Philip Glass
  • The Canyon (1988)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned by the Voorheen ADM Oudegracht, The Netherlands

  • 2+pic.2.2.2/4.3.2+btbn.1/timp.8perc/pf/str
  • 18 min

Programme Note

The Canyon is the second piece of a series of symphonically conceived "portraits of nature" (preceded by The Light and followed by Itaipu). The composition does not refer to a particular canyon; it is based on an idealized canyon of the imagination.

© Philip Glass


Itaipú: II. The Lake
Itaipú: III. The Dam
Itaipú: IV. To the Sea
The Canyon