Available in the USA, Canada and Mexico only
Orchestrated by Dmitri Shostakovich (Op. 58, 1940)

  •[=4]hp.[opt balalaika.[opt domra]/str; stage band: 2hn, 2thn, 2cnt, 4tpt, 2bar, 2tba; balalaika and domra (ad lib)
  • SATB chorus
  • 3 Baritones, 3 Mezzo sopranos, 2 Sopranos, 6 Tenors, 7 Basses
  • 2 hr
  • Dmitri Shostakovich
  • Libretto by the composer. English translation available.
  • English, Russian

Programme Note

The opera is set in Russia and Poland between 1598 and 1605. Boris Godunov becomes Czar of Russia after he has murdered the young Dmitri, who is the rightful heir to the throne. The novice Grigory resolves to avenge the murder and, driven to insanity by his guilt, Boris falls dead at the end.

Reorchestration of Musorgsky’s opera in 4 acts with prologue (10 tableaux) based
on the piano score edited by Pavel Lamm

1. Scene 1 ‘Courtyard of the Moscow Novodevichy Convent’
2. Scene 2 ‘Yard in the Moscow Kremlin. Entrance of the Tsar’s appartments.
solemn sound of the bells’
Act I
3. Scene 3 ‘Cell in the Chudovi Monastery. Night’
4. Scene 4 ‘Inn at the Lithuanian border’
Act II
5. Scene 5 ‘The Tsar’s appartment in the Moscow Kremlin’ (first and second redaction)
6. Scene 6 ‘Sandomir Castle. Marina Mnishek at the dressing table. Girls’
7. Scene 7 ‘Sandomir Castle. Garden. Fountain. Moonlit night’
Act IV
8. Scene 8 ‘Square in front of St. Basil’s Cathedral. Crowd of the poor.
9. Scene 9 ‘The Granovitaya Palata in the Moscow Kremlin: The boyars’ extraordinary meeting’
10. Scene 10 ‘Clearing near Kromy. Night’