• Aaron Jay Kernis
  • Air (for Violin and Orchestra) (1996)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2(pic).1.2.1/2200/timp.perc/pf.hp/str
  • Violin
  • 11 min

Programme Note

Composer note:
Air is a love letter to the violin. Songlike and lyrical, it opens up a full range of the instrument's expressive and poignant possibilities. Composed with two main themes and open in harmony, the first poses melodic questions and their response, while the second is very still, rising ever-upward into the highest range of the violin. Following a middle section of dramatic intensity it cycles back to the themes in reverse, developing each along the way, and ending quietly after a final plaintive ascent. Air is dedicated to pianist Evelyne Luest, the composer's wife, and was composed in 1995 for violinist Joshua Bell. Since it's premiere it has been arranged in many versions with solo instrument and orchestra, chamber ensemble or piano.



Joshua Bell, violin
Minnesota Orchestra, David Zinman, conductor