• Karel Husa
  • The Trojan Women (1980)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2(pic,bamboo fl).1+ca.1+bcl.2(cbn)/110+btbn.0/timp.3perc/hp.pf/str
  • 45 min

Programme Note

Composer note:

The Trojan Women, ballet for orchestra, was commissioned by the University of Louisville School of Music as part of it celebration year in its new building. The work was composed in 1980 in Ithaca, New York. Some of the few music devices we know about the old Greek music are used in the structure of the work, such as the Greek modes, tetrachords, quarter-tones and melodic lines. It is based on the play of Athenian Euripides (born approximately 484 B.C.) and deals with the horrors of the war, immense suffering, murdering of innocents, annihilation of freedom but also with the dignity of nobility of the captured women, awaiting their departure into slavery.

The ballet The Trojan Women is divided into an opening Prologue, five scenes, two interludes and a closing Epilogue. In the Prologue, fire is rising from the ruins of Troy.

--Karel Husa


The Trojan Women: I. Prologue
The Trojan Women: II. Cassandra
The Trojan Women: III. Lullaby
The Trojan Women: IV. Death of Astyanax
The Trojan Women: V. Hacuba's Lament - Fanfare - Epilogue