• 2+pic.22+bcl.2/4231/timp.perc/hp/str
  • 1121/2210/timp/hp/str; No full score for reduced orchestration
  • children's chorus; ballet
  • Alto, Baritone, 3 Mezzo Sopranos, 3 Sopranos; lyric Soprano
  • 1 hr 31 min
  • Libretto by Adelheid Wette after a Grimm fairytale. English translation by Constance Bache, revised
  • English, German

Programme Note

The children Hansel and Gretel are sent into the woods to gather strawberries after their mother finds them playing instead of working. They lose their way in the forest and fall asleep and in the morning they come upon a witch’s gingerbread house. The witch locks up Hansel and forces Gretel to work for her, but the children trick the witch, push her into the oven and thereby free all the children who had been turned into gingerbread cookies.