• Richard Danielpour
  • Urban Dances: Dance Suite In Five Movements (1996)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 3(pic)2+ca.3(bcl)3(cbn)/
  • 27 min

Programme Note

Composer's note:

"Urban Dances" was composed from July 28 through December 16, 1996. It was written on commission from the New York City Ballet for choreographer Miriam Mataviani as part of the Diamond Project commissions for the Ballet. While the work is influenced by my brass quintet of the same title (from 1988), it is not an orchestration of that work, but rather an entirely new set of dance movements, this time for orchestra.

--Richard Danielpour