• Richard Danielpour
  • Metamorphosis (Piano Concerto No. 1) (1990)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2(pic).2(ca).2(bcl).2/2220/timp.3perc/hp/str
  • Piano
  • 28 min

Programme Note

Composer's note:

Metamorphosis, a three–movement concerto for piano and chamber orchestra, was composed at various intervals over a two-ear period (1988-1990). A number of sketches for it appeared in my work as early as the summer of 1987. Those sketches and several pages of orchestration were transferred and transformed into what became a piano quintet written for the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and premiered by the Emerson Quartet and Ken Noda in January of 1989 at Lincoln Center. A joint commission for the New York Chamber Symphony and the Hoboken Chamber Orchestra allowed me to work on the realization of my original vision for this thirty-minute piece – a concerto for piano and orchestra which would evoke a journey and metamorphosis, or transformation, of the soul.

— Richard Danielpour