• Paul Cooper
  • Symphony No. 4 “Landscape” (1973)

  • G Schirmer Inc (World)
  • 22+ca.2+bcl.2/4331/timp.perc/hp.pf(cel)/str
  • Flute, Trumpet, Viola
  • 21 min

Programme Note

Cooper began writing Symphony No. 4 (Landscape) in 1973, during his second Guggenheim Fellowship in London. He completed the work in Houston during March 1975. The piece is dedicated to Samuel Jones, who conducted the Houston Symphony in its September 19, 1975 world premiere at the inaugural Concert of The Shepherd School of Music at Rice University.

The subtitle of the symphony comes from a poem by C.E. Cooper.