• Daniel Catán
  • Florencia en el Amazonas (Orchestral Suite) (2003)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2(pic).2.2+bcl.2/3221/timp.2perc.mba/hp.pf/str
  • 28 min
    • 29th September 2024, Boettcher Concert Hall, Denver, CO, United States of America
    • 23rd November 2024, Safe Credit Union Performing Arts Center, Sacramento, CA, United States of America
    View all

Programme Note

Daniel Catán’s Florencia Suite brings together music from six scenes of his opera Florencia en el Amazonas (1996). The libretto for this opera takes inspiration from Gabriel García Márquez’s novel Love in the Time of Cholera. In this piece, Catán tries to create a musical equivalent for the “magical realism” often found in García Márquez’s works. This orchestral suite was written for the Madison Symphony Orchestra in 2003.
1. On the Pier
2. Arcadio
3. The Storm
4. Sunrise
5. Paula
6. Florencia's Farewell



More Info