• Samuel Barber
  • Souvenirs (Ballet Suite) (1952)

  • G Schirmer Inc (World)
  • 2(pic)2(ca)22/4330/timp.perc/hp.cel/str
  • 19 min

Programme Note

Composer note:

In 1952 I was writing some duets for one piano to play with a friend, and Lincoln Kirstein suggested I orchestrate them for a ballet. Commissioned by the Ballet Society, the suite consists of a waltz, schottische, pas de deux, two step, hesitation tango, and gallop. One might imagine a divertissement in a setting of the Palm Court of the Hotel Plaza in New York, the year about 1914, epoch of the first tangos; Souvenirs, remembered with affection, not in irony or with tongue in cheek, but in amused tenderness.

— Samuel Barber


Souvenirs, Op. 28 (version for orchestra): I. Waltz (The Lobby)
Souvenirs, Op. 28 (version for orchestra): II. Schottische (Third Floor Hallway)
Souvenirs, Op. 28 (version for orchestra): III. Pas de Deux (A Corner of the Ballroom)



More Info