• 2(pic).2.2.2/2200/timp/pf/str
  • Violin; piano reduction
  • Violin
  • 22 min
    • 15th June 2024, Eastminster United Church, Toronto, ON, Canada
    • 22nd June 2024, West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge, United Kingdom
    View all

Programme Note

The first movement — Allegro molto moderato — begins with a lyrical first subject announced at once by the solo violin, without any orchestral introduction. The movement as a whole has, perhaps, more the character of sonata than concerto form. The second movement — Andante sostenuto — is introduced by an extended oboe solo. The violin enters with a contrasting and rhapsodic theme, after which it repeats the oboe melody of the beginning. The last movement, a perpetual motion, exploits the more brilliant and virtuoso characteristics of the violin.

— Samuel Barber


Violin Concerto, Op. 14: I. Allegro
Violin Concerto, Op. 14: II. Andante
Violin Concerto, Op. 14: III. Presto in moto perpetuoso




More Info