• Samuel Barber
  • Concerto for Violin (1939)

  • G Schirmer Inc (World)
  • 2(pic).2.2.22200timppfstr
  • Violin; piano reduction
  • Violin
  • 22 min
    • 7th November 2020, Kölner Philharmonie, Cologne, Germany
    • 5th December 2020, Anne S. Richardson Auditorium, Ridgefield, CT, United States
    View all

Programme Note

Composer Note:

The first movement — Allegro molto moderato — begins with a lyrical first subject announced at once by the solo violin, without any orchestral introduction. The movement as a whole has, perhaps, more the character of sonata than concerto form. The second movement — Andante sostenuto — is introduced by an extended oboe solo. The violin enters with a contrasting and rhapsodic theme, after which it repeats the oboe melody of the beginning. The last movement, a perpetual motion, exploits the more brilliant and virtuoso characteristics of the violin.

— Samuel Barber


Violin Concerto, Op. 14: I. Allegro
Violin Concerto, Op. 14: II. Andante
Violin Concerto, Op. 14: III. Presto in moto perpetuoso


View Score



More Info