• Aaron Jay Kernis
  • Ecstatic Meditations (1998)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • SSAATTBB a cappella choir
  • Soprano, Tenor
  • 17 min
  • Mechtild of Magdeburg
  • English

Programme Note

Aaron Jay Kernis, awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1998, is one of the most sought after composers today. He has received commissions from many of the major orchestras in the United States, including the New York Philharmonic and San Francisco Symphony. Ecstatic Meditations was composed in 1999 for Philip Brunelle and the Plymouth Music Series Ensemble Singers and Choir. Like all of Kernis' music, it "bears the unmistakable stamp of a wildly fertile musical imagination…with rich poetic imagery." The text is by Mechthild of Magdeburg, translated by Jane Hirshfield.

In four movements, for sale separately:
1. Effortlessly love flows
2. How the soul speaks to God
3. I Cannot Dance O Lord
4. How God Answers the Soul


Ecstatic Meditations: No. 1. Effortlessly Love Flows
Ecstatic Meditations: No. 2. How the Soul Speaks to God
Ecstatic Meditations: No. 3. I cannot dance, O Lord
Ecstatic Meditations: No. 4. How God Answers the Soul


More Info