• Bright Sheng
  • String Quartet No. 3 (1993)

  • G Schirmer Inc (World)
  • 2 vn, va, vc
  • 18 min

Programme Note

Composer Note:

This work was inspired by the memory of a Tibetan folk dance which I came across about twenty years ago when I was living in Chinhai, the province on the border between China and Tibet. What I remember most about this particular dace is that it started with freely rhythmic folk singing and segued into a very rhythmic dance, over which the singing continued. Although the structure of my string quartet bears some resemblance to my memory of this dance, I did not attempt to recreate the dance scene. Rather, in many ways, my faint memory served as a point of departure for the composition. The materials in this work develop towards the final Larghetto section, which is an elegy in memoriam of friends who have died in recent years.

String Quartet No. 3 was written between May and September of 1993. It was co-commissioned by Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in New York City, the University of California at Berkeley, the Ensemble Music Society of Indianapolis, the University of Iowa, the University of Colorado, and the Takacs Quartet, to whom the work is dedicated.

—Bright Sheng


String Quartet no. 3