• Karel Husa
  • Concerto for Alto Saxophone (1967)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2+2pic.2+ca.3+acl+bcl+Bbcbcl.ssx+asx+tsx+barsx[+bsx].2/442+2btbn.1+2bar/timp.2perc/pf/[db]
  • Alto Saxophone
  • 20 min

Programme Note

The Concerto for Alto Saxophone was commissioned by and dedicated to the Cornell Wind Ensemble and its Director, Maurice Stith. The work was premiered at Cornell University in March 17, 1968, featuring soloist Sigurd Rascher. Its three movements — Prolog, Ostinato, and Epilog — explore new possibilities for the alto saxophone with a virtuosic solo part.