• John Harbison
  • String Quartet No. 2 (1987)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2vn.va.vc
  • 25 min

Programme Note

Composer note:

String Quartet No. 2 was commissioned by the Harvard Musical Association for performance by the Emerson Quartet. It was begun in Los Angeles in December 1986, and completed at Token Creek, Wisconsin in July 1987. The first performance was at Boston's Jordan Hall on November 15, 1987.

The five movements, Fantasia, Concerto, Recitative and Aria, Sonata, and Chorale Fantasia, are played without pause.

— John Harbison