• John Harbison
  • Fanfares and Reflection (1990)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2vn
  • 5 min

Programme Note

Composer note:

Fanfares and Reflection was composed for the opening concert of the Token Creek Chamber Music Festival in August 1990 [sic]. It was not performed at that time, the first performance taking place on March 26, 1992 at the Greenwich House, New York City, with violinists Rose Mary Harbison and Elizabeth Small.
The piece is in three short movements, two brisk fanfares flanking a “reflection” in Renaissance motet style. The total duration is about five minutes.

— John Harbison