• Joan Tower
  • Snow Dreams (1983)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • fl, gtr
  • 9 min

Programme Note

Snow Dreams was completed in January 1983 and is dedicated to Sharon Isbin and Carol Wincenc, who commissioned it through a grant from the Schubert Club.

Composer Note:

There are many different images of snow, its forms and its movements: light snow flakes pockets of swirls of snow, rounded drifts, long white plains of blankets of snow, light and heavy snowfalls, etc. Many of these images can be found in the piece, if in fact, they need to be found at all. The listener will determine that choice.

—Joan Tower