• 6 min

Programme Note

Carl Nielsen: Humoresquee-Bagatelles op. 11
arranged for chamber ensemble by Niels Rosing-Schow.

Goddag! Goddag!, ’Hello!, Hello!’
Snurretoppen, ’The Spinning Top’
En lille langsom vals, ’A short slow Waltz’
Sprællemanden, ’Jumping Jack’
Dukkemarch, ’Doll’s March’
Spilleværket, ’The musical Clock’

In Carl Nielsen’s six Humoresque-Bagatelles, composed about 1895, a series of situations from the nursery are hit off with a good sense of humour. In my arrangement for the Storstrøms Chamber Ensemble I have tried to emphasize Carl Nielsen’s humorous character sketch in a richly coloured instrumental adaptation.