• Karl Aage Rasmussen
  • Italiensk Koncert (1981)
    (Italian Concerto)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 12 min

Programme Note

Italiensk Koncert - Italian Concerto – was composed in 1981 and first performed in Mexico City on the 3rd of July this year by the Elsinore Players conducted by the composer.

With obvious reference to Bach’s famous concerto, it is a piece in “Italian” style. For a contemporary composer, however, this is something rather ambiguous. The three movements thus refer to three Italian modes of expression, whereas each is at the same time an “omaggio” to an Italian composer. The first movement refers to Niccolo Castiglioni: a music of high registers, nervous activity and reminiscences of stately baroque. The second movement is related to 17th century composer Bernardo Pasquini, known among other things for his imitations of birds. The middle section of this movement further contains a reference to Stravinsky. The last movement is an “omaggio” to Luciano Berio: rapid, multicoloured unisons in a dynamic, dramatic flow.

The piece is in E major and E flat major, with a constant tight-rope balance between the two.

- Karl Aage Rasmussen