• Karsten Fundal
  • Floating Lines - Broken Mirrors (1996)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • Violin
  • 25 min

Programme Note

Floating Lines - Broken Mirrors for violin and orchestra.

Two movements – two sequences – two stories begin identically, but develop differently – meet however – as two possible destinies.

Special circumstances cause two different stories from the same starting point. One story branches and the ramifications tell each a different story. The other is a story about a beginning, which as a mobile of mirror bits reflects itself and becomes a never ending opening in motion that in the end destroys itself by fire.

The concert is written for the Carl Nielsen violin competition 1996, the Odense Symphony orchestra and Peter Zazofsky.

- Karsten Fundal